Message sent from:

Child Protection



Child Protection is the process of protecting children and young people who have been identified as suffering, or likely to suffer harm as a result of abuse.

There are four types of abuse:

  • Physical abuse
  • Sexual abuse
  • Emotional abuse
  • Neglect

Our commitment to safeguarding encompasses ways which we ensure children and young people foster security, confidence and independence. The Grove has a duty of care and the right to take reasonable action to ensure the welfare and safety of its pupils. If a member of staff has cause to be concerned that a child may be subject to ill treatment, neglect or any other form of abuse, the school will follow child protection procedures and inform Children’s Services of its concern.

The Grove has a comprehensive Child Protection Policy, which is overseen by Senior Leaders and regularly reviewed by our Safeguarding Committee (see below).

There are designated lead staff who monitor the effectiveness of the policy and, where necessary, liaise with the local authority when significant safeguarding concerns arise.

Our Designated Senior Person for Child Protection is Mrs Anna Pemberton. 

Any concerns you have in relation to the welfare of a child ( a child is being harmed or at risk of harm) should be reported to Mrs Anna Pemberton (Headteacher and Safeguarding Lead), Mrs Morwenna Rutland (Family Link Worker and Deputy Safeguarding Lead) or Mrs Rebecca Denmeade Deputy Headteacher, SENCo and Deputy Safeguarding Officer) at the earliest opportunity. 

Hit enter to search